Week 24 – Unusually awake

What was it that woke me so early? I have no idea, but it was interesting to experience a side of the city that I’ve never seen before.

 

Unusually Awake

Early Sunday stillness
ordinary sounds echo offbeat
streets are stretched without traffic
only the stragglers –
still stuck in Saturday

I ignore the walker
who vigorously avoids me
We each prefer to keep
our seclusion –
music or musings notwithstanding

Shine dawns over the city below
It’s a pity to miss this
sun-minted polis
My owlish head
always buried in evening –
intriguing to assume
the aspect
of a lark.

 

VP 18th Jun 2017, Graz

Leave a Reply

